See and experiment - Part II

05. Itapúa

The department of Itapua is located in the south of the country and its capital is Encarnacion. Located on the banks of the Paraná River, it borders the province of Misiones, Argentina. In this so called “granary” live Paraguayans and descendants of many countries, mainly Germans and Japanese who are mostly devoted to agriculture. The inhabitants of German origin in the three colonies of Bella Vista, Hohenau and Obligado created a union called “Colonias Unidas,” or United Colonies. In this department there are 31.3 inhabitants per square kilometer. The greatest cultural treasure of this region is the Jesuit Reductions, which still remain in a remarkable good state.

06. Alto Paraná

Especially after the construction of the Friendship Bridge between Paraguay and Brazil in 1961, the Parana Department experienced impressive an economic heights. Here on average live 47.2 inhabitants by Squire kilometre.

07. Iguazu

Although they are not inside Paraguayan territory, the Iguacu falls that spread out over parts of Brazil and Argentina and are wider than the Victoria Falls and higher than the Niagara Falls, could be considered the most famous tourist attraction of the country. That is why we dedicate a whole chapter to this region.

08. Amambay

This department, located in the northeast of the country on the border with Brazil, is characterized by its mountainous formations that are populated with forests, showing a relatively intact Paraguay (9.6 inhabitants per square kilometre) and well worth the trouble to traverse on an exploration trip. Who knows what surprises one can hope to discover in the deep forests or who was really the .author. of the mysterious rock inscriptions? Find out and you may very well be entering the history books, long live the magic of Amambay!

09. Concepción

The district of Concepcion is located on the banks of the main river of the country, the Paraguay River. It’s population is about 10,5 inhabitants per square kilometer, and the main activities are cattle breeding and wood production.

10. Chaco Central

The infamous “green hell” is a dry blanket that occupies over 60% of the Paraguayan territory. The “hell” includes the departments of President Heyes, Boquerón and Alto Paraguay.
In this guide we have divided the Chaco into two areas for tourism, the “Central Chaco” and the “Chaco Alto.” The Central Chaco has the larger population, of the total 136,000 inhabitants, and includes 2 counties. The Chaco Alto will have a section of its own in which we will talk about its deep and almost fully intact forests, as well as its increasingly scarce vegetation to the North.

11. Chaco Alto

The third county within the Chaco is “Alto Paraguay,” in the northern part of the country bordering Bolivia. Here, the adventurous type can find undiscovered flora and fauna that will astound them. A different type of safari, far from the African wetlands though equally exciting.

© Westfalenhaus Verlag S.A.